November 12, 2008

  • Question 113 – Catholic View of What the Crucifixion Achieved

    Question 113 – Catholic View of What the Crucifixion Achieved

     

    Hi Robert, I'm a convert from atheism to Protestantism and finally to Catholicism.  I've just finished reading John Stott's (good) book "The Cross of Christ" and am currently a quarter of the way through your great book "Not by Faith Alone".  I was wondering if you could recommend a conservative Catholic book on what the Cross achieved for humanity from our Church's viewpoint.

     

    Sincerely

     

    David

     

    R. Sungenis: David, I have another good book for you that is just what the doctor ordered -- Not By Bread Alone. Half the book details the Catholic view of the Atonement. Stott is referenced and critiqued, as well as all the major players on both Catholic and Protestant theology. I haven't seen anything else like it on the Catholic market, except for a few older books, which I also reference. Read NBBA first, and then you can read the source material I list in it. You can order it from us if you like, and I will personalize it for you.

     

    God be with you!

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *