December 12, 2009

  • Question 207 - The Last Supper and the Passover, part 2

    Hi Robert,

     

    I agree it is an open topic for discussion and I think it's great this is being discussed.  Did you have any comment to make on Benedict's remarks/argument?

    Matthew

     

    R. Sungenis: Yes. I forgot to add that in. I only scanned his remarks but I would say they are along the same lines as Chrysostom -- just going on what he thinks he knows without really studying the issue to see if it is correct. I'm not saying he is wrong, I'm just saying that one could not draw from his remarks any kind of definitive conclusion. Respect for the pope also means that we not saddle him with saying something definitive when he is not doing so. Pinning something on the pope before he has had time to investigate it thoroughly is just as bad as disobeying him when he says something definitively.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *