May 2, 2010

  • Question 249 - Science and salvation 2

    Dear Robert,

    I'm a web developer working late tonight waiting for some process to finish, so I thought I would write back.

    You know that I'm open and sincere.  I can simply say I believe what the Church teaches as the pillar and foundation of the truth even though I don't fully understand many truths which are Mysteries to me.

    It is definitely possible that the earth is immovable but I think it would be not because of its own gravity keeping every object in the universe in orbit around itself, but because God placed it in a position such that all the other orbits of all the other stars keep it still by the effects of gravity of all other objects in the universe on itself.

    I believe the more mass an object has, they greater gravitational force it has on other objects.

    That is the part that confuses me.  But if Peter could say to Our Lord: "Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life." then I would say the same about the Church which is one and the same as Christ's Mystical Body.

    I do not understand at all how the earth does not move, but I believe God can do anything He wants and it would not be up to us to determine how things are.

    For, Our Lady made the Sun physically move and change colors and almost strike the earth, and the earth did not move during that time in
    Fatima.  I believe with a supernatural Faith what the Church teaches which is what God has revealed who can neither deceive nor be deceived.

    Honestly, at this point, I'm open...

    Sincerely in +JMJ,
    Roger

     

    R. Sungenis: That's good, Roger. Keep thinking about it. If I can be of any more help, just let me know. God be with you, and have a blessed Easter remembrance.